Falmouth High School Baseball
Yachtsmen fall to Bangor in State Championship
by Falmouth Baseball on June 18th, 2016

From the Portland Press Herald:

​STANDISH — Bangor senior left-hander Trevor DeLaite held Falmouth to three hits as the Rams won their third straight Class A baseball state title, 5-0 Saturday afternoon at St. Joseph’s College.

DeLaite struck out 10, walked three and picked off two runners. He also doubled to set up Bangor’s first run.

Bangor celebrates with the trophy after defeating Falmouth 5-0 to win the Class A baseball state championship on Saturday at St. Joseph's College in Standish. 

Both teams finished 19-1.

Bangor took a 2-0 lead in the third. DeLaite followed a one-out walk with a double in the right-center gap. Derek Fournier singled home one runner and a fielder’s choice got DeLaite home.

The Rams made it 3-0 in the fifth on a sacrifice fly by Jesse Colford and scored twice more in the sixth on singles by Peter Kemble, George Payne and Kyle Stevenson.

Reece Armitage (7-1) allowed three hits and four walks and three earned runs in five innings for Falmouth. Cam Guarino allowed four hits and two unearned runs in two innings of relief.

Falmouth threatened only in the fourth inning by loading the bases with two out before Delaite ended the inning with a strikeout.

TB: Robbie Armitage, Colin Coyne, Garret Aube, Reece Armitage 
ROE: Robbie Armitage 
FC: Garret Aube, Hogan Tracy 
SB: Robbie Armitage 
PIK: Connor Aube, Garret Aube 
Team QAB: 14 (51.85%) 
Connor Aube 2, Robbie Armitage, Colin Coyne 2, Chris Camelio 2, Garret Aube 2, Hogan Tracy 2, Reece Armitage 2, Jessie Melchiskey 

LOB: 6

E: Garret Aube

L: Reece Armitage 
Pitches-Strikes: Reece Armitage 79-46, Cam Guarino 33-21 
Groundouts-Flyouts: Reece Armitage 8-1, Cam Guarino 1-3 
First pitch strikes-Batters faced: Reece Armitage 18-22, Cam Guarino 4-11  

Posted in 2016 State Championship, Cam Guarino, Chris Camelio, Colin Coyne, Connor Aube, Game Recap, Garret Aube, Hogan Tracy, Jesse Melchiskey, Maine Principal's Association, Max Fortier, Reece Armitage, Robbie Armitage, Tyler Gee    Tagged with State Championship, class a, baseball, varsity, maine, high school, Bangor, shut out, Coach Kevin Winship, Coach Craig Pendleton, reece armitage, cam guarino, connor aube, Garret Aube, Griffin Aube, Max Fortier, Jesse Melchiskey, Colin Coyne, Tyler Gee, Robbie Armitage, Chris Camelio, Hogan Tracy


Leave a Comment

alumni (6)
Marist (2)
#FHSBaseball #MESports #SigningDay2016 10 teams to watch 100th win 14Ks 1st baseman 1st team 2014 2015-2016 2016 2017 25 players to watch 29th high school win 2nd team 3-run home run Abbie Murrell Aiken Alex Maxsimic Alex Whitmore All-Region Team All-Region All-Stars All-USA American Family Insurance Anthony Galli Antonio Pardi Association Athlete of the Month Bags4MyCause Bangor Barrett Grant Baseball Factory Baseball camps Bates Ben Lowry Benefits Best Baseball Player in the State 2017 Biddeford Bonny Eagle Brad Smith Brady Douglas Brandon Burnell Brett Emmertz CBS Sports Cal Inlow Caleb Lydick Cam Smith Cameron Cox Cameron Guarino Cameron Cape Elizabeth Chargers Charlie Emple Charlie Pochepan Cheverus Chris Camelio Chris Grady Chris Tracz Class A State Championship Coach Brian Dill Coach Celano Coach Craig Pendleton Coach Kevin Winship Coach Mac Coach Pendleton Coach Winship Colby Emmertz Colby-Sawyer Colin Coyne Colin Lento College Baseball News College Commitments College baseball Connecticut Conner Coffin Connor Coffin Craig Pendleton Cumberland Dartmouth Deering Derek Foss Derek Smith Donations Donnie Tocci Dr. John Winkin Dustin Crawford ERA EdgeSports Eli Rapkin Stiles FHS Baseball FHS Boosters FHSBaseball Fab 5 Falmouth Baseball Falmouth High School Baseball Falmouth House of Pizza Falmouth JV Falmouth Little League Falmouth Maine Falmouth Varsity Baseball Falmouth Varsity Pre-season Falmouth Varsity Falmouth win Falmouth Frank J. Gaziano Memorial Offensive and Defensive Lineman Awards Frank Torre Freeport Game Recap Garret Aube Garrett Aube Garrett Tracy Gatorade Player of the Year Gatorade Gorham Gray-New Gloucester Gray Greely Grffin Aube Griff Aube Griffin Aube Guarino Hadlock Field Hall of Fame Hannaford Cause Bag Program Hannaford Headfirst Herald High School Baseball High Hogan Tracy Home Run Home runs Homerun Honor roll Hunter Owen Ike Kiely Illinois State Induction JV Baseball JV Jack Davenport Jack Kidder Jack Saffian Jackman Graver Jackman Gravier Jackson Coutts Jackson Quinn Jake Alpren Jake Knopp Jake Ricker Jared Brooks Jason Farmer Jesse Melchiskey Jesse Melchisky Jesse Melichiskey Jordan Ward Josh Lefevre Katelyn Cox Keegan Stanton Kennebunk Kevin Winship Kevin Kinsman Kip Richard LHP Lake Region Left-handed pitcher Lessons MAAC MIke Gramse Madaline Wood Maine Baseball Hall of Fame Maine Baseball Maine High School Baseball Coaches Association Maine Hits Maine Principals Association Maine South Region Baseball Championships March Marcus Cady Marie W. Noel Marist Matt Gramse Matt MacDowell Max Foriter Max Fortier MaxPreps Michael Hoffer Mr. Baseball NHSBCA NLI Nate Howard Nate Rogers National High School Baseball Coaches Association National Leadership Award National Letter of Intent New England New Gloucester New Hamsphire New Haven New York Nick Mancini No-Hitter Northeast-10 OF Oberlin Ohio Opening Day Outstanding PBR PPH Patrick Horgan Perfect Game Play it Forward Program Player of the Year Player Poland High School Baseball Poland Portland Precision Entertainment Preseason Press Herald Press Quarterfinals RBI Rangers Red Foxes Regional Reusable Bags Rhode Island Robbie Amitage Robbie Armitage Robbie Rupert G. Johnson Award Ryan Mucci Ryan Sergent Ryan Twitchell SACSN SMAA Sacopee Valley Salve Regina Sam Kidder Sam Manganello Sam Spugnardi Scarborough Scholarships School Semifinals Senior SkyHawks South Portland Spring Athletes of the Year Spring Preview State Championship Student Athletes Sunday Tanner Bernier Team Power Ranking Telegram Tennessee The Forecaster Thomas Wood Thomas Thornton Academy Trevor LaBonte Tyler Gee UNI USM UT Arlington UT Martin UTM Umpires Under Armour University of New Hampshire University of New Haven Varsity Baseball WMC Wells Westbrook Western West Will Blum Will Bopp Windham Winship Yachtsmen Yarmouth York Youth sports Zach Nash Zachary Brown academic all conference all-academic all-america all-conference all-star all-state allstate all alumi alumni alum apparel athletic awards award baseballtown baseball cam guarino catcher class a coach college baseball players from Maine college combined no-hitter commit conference connor aube connor macdowell d1 exemplary character falmouth high school finals football fryeburg fundraiser grades grand slam high school varsity high school holy cross homeruns honorable mention left-handed linemen luke velas maine nebj new england baseball journal no-no pitcher player interviews playoffs portland press herald pre-season prep baseball report recap recruiting reece armitage scouting semi-finals shorts shut out shutout signingday student-athlete sweatpants sweatshirts t-shirts teamwork team telegram all-state team two-hitter undefeated underclass varsity walk-off home run will d'agostino win ​Edward J. "Packy" McFarland